New Gaming/Work PC Build

Mosyzlak

QCup Player
Sydney
Hey guys,

I've run this by a few friends on facebook but I thought why not use the wealth of knowledge that is BHQ to see if there's any strong opinions to help me with my build. I work in IT and have built several rigs that have lasted me a number of years but the current girl is 5+ years old and in need of replacing. The parts I am looking at getting are:

CPUIntel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
MotherboardMSI Z97-GAMING 5 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
MemoryCorsair Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory
StorageSamsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
GraphicsMSI GeForce GTX 970 4GB Video Card Gold Gaming G1
Power SupplyCorsair RM 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

I have an existing SSD and HDD so OS and media storage is covered. The power supply may change as I have had a couple recommendations for Sea Sonic, would really like to get a quiet PS as the PC sits in the lounge room and we all know happy wife blah blah.

Any suggestions on a good case with good airflow appreciated too as the PC will sit inside a cupboard with little ventilation. The door usually remains open during use but if I can rig it to work with it closed the blah blah goes up!

Thanks guys 'n gals

Renegade

NRL Captain
I have the same memory, CPU and gfx. Though i've got 24gb (actually bought a 4x8 and had to take a stick out for my heatstink).

so i guess a piece of advice would be make sure you've got heatsink that'll fit your mobo (unless you've got water cooling, in which case same deal for your mounts), cause you'll need it.

i'll try and find my case, i only upgraded in jan (spent 2100) but i forget exactly which case I bought

Harry Sack

State of Origin Rep
Always been a fan of the Gigabyte graphics range personally. I quite like their windforce coolers. That setup looks decent to me, but I'll bow to the more knowledgeable on here.