NEWS Wayne trolls Brisbane again

McHunt

McHunt

International Rep
Contributor
Aug 25, 2018
The only thing genuinely newsworthy in the latest puff of smoke about an incoming second Brisbane team - possibly based on the recent merger of the Ipswich Jets and Bombers - is Broncos' founding coach Wayne Bennett officially not ruling out throwing his hat into the ring:

“I’m contracted to Souths for this year and then after that I’m a free agent. I’ve got nowhere to go (in 2022). I haven’t done any deals with anyone. I haven’t agreed to anything. There’s a number of strong applicants bidding to become Brisbane’s second team and they will need a coach, so I won’t rule anything out.”

“The Crushers tried to be like the Broncos when they came in and they died very quickly. What a second Brisbane team needs is a long-term plan. If they go looking for quick fixes or quick results, they will struggle. And the other thing is not to look over their shoulder trying to be better than the Broncos or Titans. They have to forge their own identity and not fall into the stupidity of trying to be like the Broncos. My No.1 priority is to get through the season with Souths. I want to finish on a good note here."

“But I know how to build teams and what makes successful clubs work."

“There is no coach in the game who has spent more time in the game at a high level than myself. I have played or coached for the past 57 years. I was part of setting up the Brisbane Broncos, so I know what it would take to set up a second Brisbane team.”

31844552 0 image a 13 1597194021518

Wayne sees it. Wayne grabs it.

Brisbane Jets bid representative Nick Livermore fans the flames: