-NEWS- Macca Nominated For NRL's Top Community Award


NRL Player
Sunshine Coast

McCullough Nominated For NRL's Top Community Award

Mon 5 Aug 2019, 02:00 PM

BRONCOS' stalwart Andrew McCullough has been recognised for his work in the community as the club's nomination for the Ken Stephen Medal for 2019. James Tedesco, Josh Addo-Carr, Gavin Cooper, Connor Watson and Sia Soliola are amongst some of the game’s biggest names to be nominated by their clubs for the 2019 Ken Stephen Medal. The 2019 Ken Stephen Medallist will be announced during Grand Final week, with voting now open on NRL.com providing fans the opportunity to select the nominee they feel deserves to be a finalist.

The player with the highest number of votes will be included as one of four finalists announced next month. Three other player finalists will be voted via a panel of judges from across the game’s administration. This is the 31st year of the Ken Stephen Medal, with the award recognising the efforts of an NRL player who has not only achieved on the field, but has committed time off the field to supporting community projects. 2019 will also see the introduction of a reciprocal medal for a female NRL player – the Veronica White Medal – with nominees also announced next month.

NRL Head of Government and Community Relations, Jaymes Boland-Rudder said this year’s Ken Stephen Medal nominees showcased a glimpse of a majority of NRL players that privately support community and charitable initiatives throughout the year. “Each of the nominees have had wonderful seasons to date and are to be congratulated for focusing their efforts off the field in a range of positive ways, ultimately benefiting their local communities,” Mr Boland-Rudder said.

“Regardless of the final award, I thank these nominees – and many more – for their support of the NRL, club and personal community programs throughout the year.” Fan voting is open on the NRL’s community page on NRL.com through to 9:00am on Monday 19 August. McCullough has a long-standing association with the RSPCA and has recently come aboard as an ambassador for Guide Dogs Queensland. He also spends countless hours doing visits to members of the community who are doing it tough in hospital.

To cast your vote for Andrew McCullough, click here.

The 2019 Ken Stephen Medal nominees:
Andrew McCullough – Brisbane Broncos

Sia Soliola – Canberra Raiders
Adam Elliot – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Josh Dugan – Cronulla Sharks
Michael Gordon – Gold Coast Titans
Joel Thompson – Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
Josh Addo-Carr – Melbourne Storm
Connor Watson – Newcastle Knights
Gavin Cooper – North Queensland Cowboys
Nathan Brown – Parramatta Eels
Frank Winterstein – Penrith Panthers
Corey Norman – St George-Illawarra Dragons
James Tedesco – Sydney Roosters
Agnatius Paasi – New Zealand Warriors
Josh Aloiai – Wests Tigers
Last edited:

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create free account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Login or Register

Forgot your password?
Don't have an account? Register now