PRE-GAME Qld Maroons Women’s Squad Announced


NRL Captain
Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons 2019 squad

QRL Media
Thu 6 Jun 2019, 05:11 PM

Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons selectors have named the squad to take on New South Wales in this year’s Holden State of Origin match.

The team will be guided by the experience of veterans Steph Hancock and Heather Ballinger; alongside their inaugural NRLW premiership-winning Brisbane Broncos team mates Ali Brigginshaw and Brittany Breayley.

There are also four debutants in the squad, with Queensland Country players Steph Mooka and Elle Stitt and South East Queensland’s Jessika Elliston forcing their way into the side following impressive showings at the recent Harvey Norman Women’s National Championships.

Burleigh Bears and Broncos centre Amber Pilley has been part of the Queensland Women’s extended training squad and has impressed in previous representative outings for the NRL Women’s Indigenous All Stars teams.

Two past Queensland representatives Jenni-Sue Hoepper (Queensland Country) and Chelsea Lenarduzzi (South East Queensland) return to the fold after their strong performances in the championships.

Queensland Women’s Representative Player Rona Peters has also been named in the side, following a review of her eligibility. While she was previously ruled out of contention due to her past representative career with the Kiwi Ferns, the application of “the grandfather rule” (not retrospectively applying eligibility guidelines) for players who have represented in interstate matches for two or more years, has ensured her passage into the 2019 team.

The Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons will enter camp on the Gold Coast next Friday in preparation for their State of Origin match at North Sydney Oval on Friday, June 21.

The Queensland Under 18 Girls team that will take part in the inaugural curtain-raiser match will be announced on soon.

Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons squad 2019

Chelsea Baker
Heather Ballinger
Annette Brander
Brittany Breayley
Ali Brigginshaw
Karina Brown
Jessika Elliston*
Tazmin Gray
Stephanie Hancock
Tallisha Harden
Jenni-Sue Hoepper
Chelsea Lenarduzzi
Stephanie Mooka*
Rona Peters
Amber Pilley*
Elle Stitt*
Amy Turner
Meg Ward

Coach: Jason Hetherington

Assistant coaches: Karyn Murphy and Nat Dwyer

*denotes debut



NRL Captain
Harvey Norman NSW Women's Origin team announced

Sat 8 Jun 2019, 10:29 AM

The NSW Rugby League is proud to announce the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Origin team to play Queensland in the 2019 Holden Women’s State of Origin at North Sydney Oval on Friday 21 June.

New coach Andrew Patmore has named Kezie Apps to captain the side which includes seven debutants, as well as a player (Kylie Hilder) returning after a 10-year absence from NSW representative honors.

The interstate match was played under the Origin banner for the first time in 2018, with NSW claiming honours for the past three successive years.

This year an inaugural Under-18 Women’s Origin match will be played as part of a double-header with the (open) women’s game at North Sydney Oval.

The Harvey Norman NSW Women’s team will have a training day at the NSW Rugby League Centre of Excellence on Sunday 9 June.

NSW Women’s State of Origin team:
1. Corban McGregor
2. Jessica Sergis
3. Tiana Penitani*
4. Isabelle Kelly
5. Shakiah Tungai*
6. Kirra Dibb*
7. Maddison Studdon
8. Simaima Taufa
9. Kylie Hilder
10. Vanessa Foliaki
11. Kezie Apps (c)
12. Shontelle Stowers*
13 Hannah Southwell

14. Botille Vette-Welsh*
15. Holli Wheeler
16. Takilele Katoa*
17. Millie Boyle*
18. Shaylee Bent

Coach: Andrew Patmore.

* Debutants

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create free account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.