With all the Revenue and profit the Club makes does it buy any assets??

Mustafur

Mustafur

State of Origin Captain
Contributor
Jun 13, 2019
NRL publishing their revenue reports for last year and them buying Gambaro Hotel on Caxton st, makes me wonder what is the club doing with their money.

Like other teams are not really making the bulk of their income from football operations like us where it's more from the leagues club, I'm near Penrith and I can see first hand where that money goes with their monstrous sized leagues club which looks like city by itself now.

If i was in charge I would probably look at buying a Super league club or something, they only have a small cap and you could use it to find Players/Staff etc.

I am no financial expert but I reckon Broncos are the only NRL club who are “publicly listed” & is actively traded in ASX. So, unlike NRL and any other clubs, Broncos must declare their annual results every year and can’t do as they wish without the board’s & majority share holders( News Ltd. in our case)approval.
Now, one could argue that other clubs do have CEO’s and Chairman’s but they wouldn’t have certain restrictions as a public listed company.

Sure, they can look at purchasing a SL club but it would be News Ltd. that will be making the purchase but not Bronco’s.

They have invested in their front office. DD & Ikin arent here on peanuts.

So basically the Beoncos club profit goes to the shareholders

A fair chunk. Some will go into reserves. The club has fairly significant cash reserves so we're not going to be like the Sharks any time soon.

In terms of investing in other clubs, it could be done but how many ESL clubs are actually profitable?