POST GAME Round 2 - Broncos vs Rabbitohs

Big Pete

International Captain
26,243
10,878
Brisbane
Having had time to stew on it, I believe Annesley meant well and was just trying to remind fans of the rule so that if a similar incident was to happen everyone would be aware of their interpretation.

Personally I don't have an issue with the try because I don't believe Staggs actually 'lost' the ball. I believe he's always maintained contact with the ball, but he's got it covered with his wrist and his hand. There's never any seperation through out and the grounding is clean. In normal speed, it looks fine and is far more acceptable than the torso try nonsense that STILL hasn't been addressed.

To me it's like that trainer rule that only got addressed recently. Technically, the refs came up with the right call but it was a rule that needed to addressed decades ago.

However, everyone is on the same page so when a similar incident happens and it's over-turned the fans don't feel like they're being cheated.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create free account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top