'He's the reason I started playing Rugby League'

Super Freak

Super Freak

International Captain
Forum Staff
Jan 25, 2014
THE flick pass. You know the one. The Benji Marshall special.

The moment of magic from a 20-year-old Kiwi that propelled Wests Tigers to the 2005 premiership and remains the beacon that has defined Marshall’s glittering NRL career.

Kodi Nikorima was aged 11 the night Marshall flicked the Tigers to premiership glory.

Watching the Wests Tigers-Cowboys decider from his loungeroom in New Zealand, Nikorima suddenly found his inspiration.

If Benjamin Quentin Marshall, the Kiwi kid from Whakatane, so poor he grew up eating Weet-Bix for dinner and tomato-sauce sandwiches for lunch, could make the big time, so could he.

“Benji is the reason I basically started playing rugby league,” says Nikorima.

“He was the man. Everyone remembers him for his amazing skills and I will never forget that flick pass that he did in the GF.

“Seeing a Kiwi make it to that level, it drove me and showed me I could fulfil my dreams if I wanted to play professional rugby league.

“Being a Kiwi myself, when he was on the big stage, he was the guy every Kiwi kid loved watching.

“I still remember being in the backyard, I would practise my own Benji Marshall step.

“He was a real idol for me growing up and a role model.”

Fast forward a decade and Nikorima’s dream is reality.

Marshall has gone from untouchable poster boy to the Broncos teammate who is taking an active interest developing Nikorima into the halfback charged with snapping Brisbane’s 11-year title drought.

On Friday night at Suncorp Stadium, Nikorima plays his 49th top-grade game against Cronulla — the opponent that best crystallises his journey in the NRL.

Two years ago, Nikorima made his NRL debut as a nervous utility against the Sharks. Now he is wearing the iconic No. 7 jumper made famous by Allan Langer, who steered Brisbane to their first premiership two years before Nikorima was even born.