Darryl Halligan is painful to listen to as he fights against the words trying to escape from his mouth.
No but if they know a player has tried to make a situation look worse by deliberately playing for it, then they have every reason to be skeptical if they try it again in the future.I hate it when the players do it, but there doesn't appear to be a lot of consistency. Last week Wests took two big dives (Woods & Eisenhuth) and were rewarded for it.
I'll have to see it for myself, but obviously the referees can't go into the game with prejudices.
Also my opinion, he tried to play it as best he could without taking a big soccer dive because he has already done that one this season against us.
I'd have to see the other angle Dex is referring to, but based on the live footage it looks like a carbon copy of the Round 10 clash where Cherry-Evans misread the play and was rewarded. It looked like Chee Kam planned to run on the outside shoulder of Cherry-Evans who then stepped into him and was taken front on.
When you start including priors and other indicators that's when the rules get messy and the referees develop tunnel vision.No but if they know a player has tried to make a situation look worse by deliberately playing for it, then they have every reason to be skeptical if they try it again in the future.
It looked like he was running the right line though and Cherry-Evans has deliberately misread the situation, just like he did in Round 10 where it should have been a try.The only thing that should matter is where the tigers player was running. That is what defensive decisions are based on and why it should have been a penalty. As soon as DCE made his decision the other players followed him in. The Tigers player stopped on his run because he was going to run into DCE .
I always try and base my opinion on, if that happened to my team, and I would feel ripped.
My thinking was that the tigers player never actually made it into the Manly defensive line, rather DCE jumped half a metre into the player to initiate the contact. Surely it can't be an obstruction if you don't actually get to the line?**** Manly, BUt... it should have been a penalty. The Tigers player wasn't going at the inside shoulder, more straight into DCE.
I'm not sure why they didn't show the head on (FOX) until after the try was awarded. I assume the bunker saw it though.
DCE maybe could have slid off earlier but he had to make a decision which affected the decision of the players outside him to come in. Bottom line for me is technically it was obstruction.
Anway, **** Manly.